Sales

I stumbled onto sales. It wasn’t even something I thought I could do, being that shy, awkward person I was back then. I started off in market research, went into hotel events, and the journey unfolded.

I’m thankful to my bosses and seniors who showed me the ropes, as well as the tough times I had to go through. I remember physically shaking with anxiety during presentations, remember asking my peers to correct me if they saw any improvements and some snickered behind my back as I fumbled, asking to go on sales call with my seniors so I could learn what to say and interact with our clients (I had really good seniors/mentors which I am so grateful for to this day), writing down everything I heard that would be helpful for my own pitch or spiel, reading books on sales and networking on my weekends so I could improve. When I started to read up more in my free time, I realized perhaps I do like this area to some extent. I enjoyed learning and observing human psychology and mostly, the real connections I’ve built. I’m only glad I stuck through in hindsight, especially at the progress and growth I’ve had. From that girl who couldn’t look into another person’s eyes or fumbled whenever I spoke to being able to speak to anyone today about anything confidently, the tears shed, the ridicule and anxiety endured, resilience and grit built, and mountains climbed are all worth it now.

Today, I’m going to consolidate the questions I would ask during a sales call or a client meeting (from my experience in hotel sales).  I usually would have the meeting structure, business and personal pointers to talk about, and meeting goals I desire in mind before meeting any client. Having this on hand helps me guide the conversation and achieve the outcome I want.

Client catch up / casual meeting 

  1. How’s business going or growing
  2. What’s new for you company since we last met
  3. Discuss new events or happenings in the country or another destination, preferably on topics your client is interested in (e.g. Sports, Arts, Coffee)
  4. Is there anything we could help with
  5. Update your client on what’s happening in your company and on your side

First Meeting and thereafter

  1. Find out about your client via linkedin or google prior to meeting them
  2. Ask about their needs and what they are looking for  (e.g. “How does this work”/”Could you tell me more about”/”Could you help me understand”/”Have you considered”)
  3. Ask about their outcome they want to achieve
  4. Ask about their budget
  5. Ask about their decision making factors
  6. Ask who else are they considering for the same product/solution (So you can quote more competitively, you can show the advantages of your product/solution without bringing your competitor down)
  7. Show them how you or your product/solution can benefit them / solve their problem / fulfill their need / improve their lives / make their lives easier (E.g. Help them imagine what the end product would do for them, or how their investment would help)
  8. Show your clients you will take care of them – and follow through!

Closing / Negotiation 

  1. When are you looking to make a decision
  2. Would love to follow up with you next week, how does that sound
  3. Would you like to move ahead to contract?
  4. Would you like me to send you the contract?

Tips 

  1. Follow up, follow up, follow up. Remember to stay in touch and follow up via email or call until they buy from you or give you a hard no
  2. Make it easy to work with you, make it as little effort on your client’s side as possible, the easier it is, the better partnerships you can create – reduce barriers to entry
  3. Everyone is looking out for their own interests, and so are you. Know when to say no. When it doesn’t make business sense, when you feel something is off, when you see a red flag. Say no, politely of course.

Networking events

  1. It shouldn’t be about getting something, but how you can help someone else instead (Never eat alone, Keith Ferrazzi)
  2. Introducing yourself – keep it under 20 words, what you do and how it adds value (E.g.  I help … / I transform problems…)
  3. Remember their names
  4. Ask questions
  5. Listen, use head nods to encourage the other person to speak
  6. Show how you can help them, add value to them, connect them together with other people first before asking for anything or business
  7. Talk in their interests
  8. Sometimes I like to attend a networking event alone so I am forced to reach out and talk to people instead of sticking with my colleague
  9. Be genuinely interested, be curious about the other person – this one is important. Get to know who they are!
  10. Remember to smile
  11. Make the other person feel important, appreciated, good about themselves – we all like to feel and know we matter. Its not about how you make people feel about you, but about themselves.

Cold Calling

  1. Before calling, research and get the right contact
  2. Even better, see if someone you know can introduce you (People trust people whom they know more)
  3. Introduce yourself and where you are calling from or what you do
  4. Explain why you are calling (E.g. Help them imagine what the end product would do for them, or how their investment would help)
  5. If they need more time to think about it, ask if you could send them some information that is value adding via email
  6. Ask if you can follow up again (E.g. the week after) – you can gauge their interest with this
  7. Thank them for their time

Body Language

  1. Neck rub – Might mean person isn’t getting it. Ask if you can help clarify something or if something is of concern
  2. Lip press – Might mean person is trying to refrain from saying something, or impatient. Ask if they would like to share any thoughts or if you have been rambling on, get to your point or end it, or let them start speaking
  3. Blinking a lot – Might mean they are stressed. Ask if you can help

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑